Derrick Strait (copy)

Derrick Strait

1. Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska

Outland, Lombardi, Nagurski, Bednarik and AP national player of the year in 2009, 24 career QB sacks.

2. Roy Williams, Oklahoma

Nagurski and Thorpe Award winner, unanimous All-American in 2001.

3. Derrick Johnson, Texas

Nagurski, Butkus winner, No. 2 in career tackles (458), No. 1 TFL (65), consensus AA ’02, unanimous ’03.

4. Derrick Strait, Oklahoma

Nagurski and Thorpe Award winner, No. 3 all-time in INTs (14), No. 1 in INT return yards (417).

5. Rocky Calmus, Oklahoma

Butkus Award winner in 2001, two-time consensus All-American, No. 2 in all-time tackles for loss (59).

6. Aqib Talib, Kansas

Unanimous All-American in 2007, 5th all-time with 13 INTs, 6th with 45 passes defensed.

7. Teddy Lehman, Oklahoma

Nagurski, Bednarik and Butkus Award winner in 2003, unanimous All-American in 2003.

8. Mark Simoneau, Kansas State

One of just two Big 12 players in the College Football Hall of Fame, unanimous All-American in ’99.

9. Dat Nguyen, Texas A&M

Lombardi, Bednarik winner in ‘98, 8th all-time with 423 tackles, 2nd with nine fumble recoveries.

10. Grant Wistrom, Nebraska

Consensus All-American and Big 12 defensive player of the year in 1996-97, Lombardi winner in 1997

11. Gerald McCoy, Oklahoma

Runner-up to Suh for all the d-lineman awards, consensus All-American in 2009, 33 tackles for loss.

12. Terence Newman, Kansas State

Thorpe Award winner and consensus All-American in 2002, scored four special teams TDs.

13. Brian Orakpo, Texas

Lombardi, Hendricks and Nagurski Award winner in 2008, 23 career QB sacks, 34.5 tackles for loss.

14. Tommie Harris, Oklahoma

Lombardi Award winner in 2003, consensus All-American in 2002 and 2003.

15. Von Miller, Texas A&M

Butkus Award winner and consensus All-American in 2010, 33 career sacks, 50.5 tackles for loss.

16. Earl Thomas, Texas

Consensus All-American (8 INTs, 2 TD returns) in 2009, 135 career tackles, 5 forced fumbles in 2 years.

17. Lawrence Flugence, Texas Tech

Big 12’s all-time tackles leader with 500 tackles from 1999-2002, including league-record 193 in 2002.

18. Nathan Vasher, Texas

Big 12’s all-time leader with 17 INTs and 64 pass breakups, 4th in punt return yards (1,314).

19. Brian Smith, Missouri

Big 12’s all-time sacks leader with 34 (tied with Texas Tech’s Aaron Hunt), also forced nine fumbles.

20. Michael Huff, Texas

Consensus All-American in 2005, tied for second in Big 12 history with four interception return TDs.

Big 12 at 20:

​Read John E. Hoover's blog