owasso reporter

The Owasso Reporter staff received the Sequoyah Award, the highest honor presented to a newspaper from OPA.


Wagoner County American-Tribune

Owasso Reporter was recognized for its excellence in journalism over the weekend.

The newspaper received several awards during Oklahoma Press Association’s annual convention on Saturday, June 8 (see PHOTO gallery).

Tulsa World’s Oklahoma Weekly Group – which publishes Owasso Reporter, Skiatook Journal, Sand Springs Leader and Wagoner County American-Tribune – collected a total of 32 awards, nine of which went to Owasso Reporter.

The organization went up against 75 Oklahoma newspapers that submitted more than 1,300 entries, each judged by members of the New Mexico Press Association.

Owasso Reporter took home first place in News Content, first in Layout & Design, first in Advertising and first in Sports Coverage in the Division 5 category (circulation between 1,400 and 2,000), as well as the Sequoyah Award, the highest honor in the entire contest.

News Editor Art Haddaway, Sports Editor Shawn Hein, Customer Service Representative Brandi Smith, Senior Advertising Consultant Karen Bennett and Paginator Melanie Allen represented Owasso.

Haddaway nabbed first place in Feature Story for his work, “Beyond happenstance: Owasso couple, nurses reunite to bring dying daughter back to health,” as well as second in Feature Story and Column Writing.

For “Beyond Happenstance,” the judges said, “This article told a unique and one-of-a-kind story in an interesting and articulate manner. It was well-written and told in a way that makes the reader want to finish the story through until the end.”

For “Alternate path,” the judges commented, “This story showcased an often overlooked sport. It was interesting, entertaining and informative – all while not going over the reader’s head.”

Additionally, Wilkerson received first place in Front Page Design for her “Vote to Smoke” cover that she created for Owasso Reporter’s July 4, 2018, print edition.

In addition to nine Sequoyah Award winners, more than 150 first-place plaques were presented during the banquet. Newspapers and individuals placing second and third in the contest received certificates.

The Tulsa World also received first place in the convention’s inaugural OPA Magazine Contest. A complete list of winners in the 2018 OPA Better Newspaper Contest is available on the OPA website at okpress.com/2018-contest-winners.