Player of the year finalists

Listed alphabetically, here are the four finalists for the 2019 All-World Boys Track Player of the Year. All four are invited to the third

All-World Awards banquet on June 22, where the winner will be announced. Click here to buy tickets to the All-World Awards banquet.

Raymond Brass

Jenks, Senior, Hurdler

Started running only three years ago but posted school-record times to repeat in the 110 and 300 hurdles at the 6A state meet. Ran a 14.33 in the 110 and a 37.99 in the 300, eclipsing his previous personal bests in last year’s championship races. Ran first in the 300 and second in the 110 in the Kansas Relays and won both at Pittsburg (Kansas) State’s Gorilla Relays. Had one of the nation’s fastest 60-meter indoor times (8.17). A two-time All-World finalist. “Best hurdler in the state,” coach Clif Mitchell said. Signed with Pittsburg State.

Kyren Johnson

Bristow, Senior, Sprint/relays

Repeated as 400 champ and was part of three winning relay teams, helping the Purple Pirates capture a second straight 4A team title. Had 4A’s best time in the 400 (48.99) in 2019 after winning in a personal-best 48.69 as a junior. Anchored the 800- and 1,600-meter relays to gold medals and was part of the winning 400-meter team. Totaled 11 state medals over three years. Started both ways for Bristow’s 9-2, district runner-up football team and received All-State recognition. Also made all-conference in basketball. Signed with Central Oklahoma for football.

Logan Matthews

Broken Arrow, Senior, Sprint/relays

Was part of two winning relays, helping the Tigers capture the team title at the 6A state meet. Also ran second to B.T. Washington’s Gentry Williams in the 400, had the state’s third-fastest time in the event and won the Meet of Champions. Anchored the winning 400 relay and fourth-place 1,600 relay and was part of the winning 800 relay. “A senior leader who had big performances in the biggest races,” coach Scott Wilkinson said. Also caught four touchdown passes for BA’s 6A Division I football champs. Undecided on a college.

JT McCloud

Union, Senior, Sprint/relays

Won 6A titles in the 100 and 200 and had the state’s fastest times in the events in 2019. Also anchored Union’s winning time in the mile relay. “An elite sprinter,” Union coach Steve Patterson said. Ran a school-record 21.09 in the 200 at the John Jacobs Invitational, missing the state record by .32 of a second. Part of an 800-meter relay team that posted a state-record 1:26.02 on April 15. Played for Redskins football teams that were state champs, runners-up and state semifinalists in his three seasons. Signed with Utah to play football.

First team

100: Makai Blades, Glenpool

200: JT McCloud, Union

400: Gentry Williams, B.T. Washington

800: Aiden Baughman, Sand Springs

1,600: Nate Gibson, Lincoln Christian

3,200: Jack Vincent, Claremore

110 Hurdles: Raymond Brass, Jenks

300 Hurdles: Malcolm Tillman, Collinsville

Relay: Kyren Johnson, Bristow; Jake Martens, Holland Hall; Logan Matthews, Broken Arrow; Kalope Morris, Broken Arrow.

High Jump: Ashton Bartholomew, Wagoner

Pole Vault: Brandon Hanoch, Broken Arrow

Long Jump: Brennan Presley, Bixby

Discus: Mitchell Medford, Sand Springs

Shot Put: Zac Robbins, Collinsville

Coach of the year

Scott Wilkinson, Broken Arrow

Came to rebuild a sagging program and guided the Tigers to a 6A boys team title and the girls to a runner-up finish in his second season. Previously coached Shawnee for 17 years, guiding the girls to state crowns in 2009 and ’12 and helping coach a boys championship team in 2005. Also had two boys state runner-up teams and three in girls while at Shawnee. Started building an impressive BA coaching staff by hiring his former Shawnee assistant and former Tigers track standout Aaron Partridge. Other key additions included Mookie Salaam, a silver medalist in the 400-meter relay at the 2013 World Championships; and Emilee Iverson, an NCAA Division II high jump champion from Pitt State. A 1996 Stroud High graduate, Wilkinson won two state pole vault titles and helped the Tigers win two state team championships.

Honorable mention

Barnsdall: Braden Kelley

Bartlesville: James Boudreaux, Spencer Hales

Beggs: Markail Johnson

Berryhill: Tyler Davis

Bishop Kelley: Ryland Gray, Zach Middleton

Bixby: Jordan Reagan

Bristow: Jalen Fullbright, Devin Reed, Brant Weir

Broken Arrow: Luis Abad, Andres Chapa, Blake McConkay, Keith Smith, Corey Williams, Brandon Zamarippa

Catoosa: Kai Faulkner

Claremore: Quentin Skinner

Claremore Sequoyah: Mason Hassell

Collinsville: Taylor Olinghouse

Copan: Aaron Hunt

Dewey: Colby Henley

Edison: Jaxon Paul

Holland Hall: Johnny LaFortune, Ike Walker

Hominy: Cliffy Hayes

Jenks: Henry Falls, Jack Jansen, Leondre Woods

Kiefer: Phoenix Randleman

Lincoln Christian: Josiah Antis

Mannford: Aiden Jones

Morris: Riley Pannell

Oologah: David Hunnell, Mayson Powell

Pawhuska: Mason Gilkey

Pryor: Trapper Gilstrap

Rejoice Christian: Hunter Jennings

Sapulpa: Hunter Wright

Skiatook: Thomas Reed

Stroud: Gage Parrick

Tahlequah: Blake Corn

Union: Gabe Cantu, Dantre Harrison, Mish Newsome, Ethan Sorrels

Will Rogers: Darrien Jenkins

Previous winners

Athlete of the Year

2018: Jared Scott, Central

2017: Daniel Mazzei, Berryhill

2016: Eugene Grayson, Glenpool

2015: Malik Givens, B.T. Washington

2014: Tyler Jackson, Claremore

2013: Bo Farrow, Broken Arrow

2012: Bo Farrow, Broken Arrow

2011: David Annett, Metro Christian

2010: David Annett, Metro Christian

2009: Boyea Lockett, Union

2008: David Gordon, East Central

2007: Patrick Youngblood, Jenks

2006: Ross Harlan, Owasso

2005: Mackenzi Adams, Union

Coach of the Year

2018: Shannon Hilburn, Bristow

2017: Jana Patterson and Aaron Parsons, Union

2016: No award given

2015: Marvin Dantzler, B.T. Washington

2014: Steve Patterson, Jenks

2013: Scott Morgan, Broken Arrow

2012: Trent Worley, Lincoln Christian

2011: Kevin Gordon, East Central

2010: Steve Patterson, Lincoln Christian

2009: Mike Stanton, Union

2008: Tom Stockton, Union

2007: Kevin Gordon, East Central

2006: Steve Patterson, Jenks

How the team was picked

Nomination forms were emailed to athletic directors and coaches in the All-World area. Schools within 60 miles of downtown Tulsa and schools within 75 miles of downtown in a town with a population of 5,000 or more are considered to be in the All-World area. Freshmen through seniors were eligible. World sports writer Kelly Hines assisted Mike Brown with the final selections.

Mike Brown


Twitter: @mikebrownTW

Sports Writer

Mike has covered high school football, basketball and baseball for the Tulsa World since Spencer Tillman, Wayman Tisdale and Troy Aikman were sophomores in high school. Phone: 918-581-8390