All-World Award finalists

Listed alphabetically, here are the three finalists for the 2019 All-World Girls Tennis Player of the Year. All three are invited to the third All-World Awards banquet on June 22, where the winner will be announced. Click here to buy tickets to the All-World Awards banquet.

Maggie Holcomb

Bixby, Sophomore

Repeated as 6A No. 2 singles champ and helped lead Spartans to a second consecutive team title. Made history last year by giving Bixby its first individual state tennis title and is now first to win two in a row. Went 25-5 as a sophomore and is 52-7 over two seasons. Said her win over Jenks’ Sloane Johnston in the title match was her best of the season “because she’s really good and I knew I had to bring my all.” A two-time All-World finalist. She and senior sister Melody, fourth in No. 1 singles, are daughters of KOTV sports director John Holcomb.

Reagan Miley

Bishop Kelley, Senior

Completed a two-year odyssey by winning the 5A No. 1 singles title. Went 24-0 and lost only one set all season. Joined younger sister Kate Miley, Kelley’s No. 2 singles champ, in leading Comets to their eighth state team title. As a Cascia Hall sophomore two years ago, paired with older sister McKenzie Miley to win at No. 2 doubles and help lead Commandos to the 5A state team title. Transferred to Kelley last year and “handled her long sit-out (2018) season with grace,” coach Mary Jo Tasker said. Signed with Oral Roberts University.

Andie Williams

Jenks, Senior

Reigning All-World player of the year won a third straight 6A No. 1 singles title and went 55-1 over three seasons. Avenged her only 2019 loss with a 6-3, 6-0 win over Westmoore’s Jenna Noel in the championship final. Also defeated Noel in the 2018 final. Went 26-0 as a sophomore and 16-0 as a junior. Led Jenks to a 6A team title in 2017 and runner-up finishes the next two seasons. Very determined and aggressive, coach Ron Acebo said, “does not concede any point without a fight.” Signed with Quinnipiac University (Hamden, Connecticut).

First team

• Ashley Barber, Jr., Union

• Grace Deininger, Fr., Metro Christian

• Maggie Holcomb, So., Bixby

• Sloane Johnston, Sr., Jenks

• Lauren Michalcik, So., Metro Christian

• Kate Miley, So., Bishop Kelley

• Reagan Miley, Sr., Bishop Kelley

• Andie Williams, Sr., Jenks

Doubles: Kalley Smith, Sr., and Taylor Conway, So., Bixby

Doubles: Bailey Wollmershauser, Jr., and Aubrey Bailey, So., Bishop Kelley

Coaches of the year

Mary Jo Tasker, Susan Limekiller Bishop Kelley

Combined their efforts in guiding the Comets to the school’s eighth state title in tennis and 100th in all sports. Tasker is a self-described tennis lover from Biloxi, Mississippi. Limekiller is a 1984 Kelley graduate who previously oversaw the program, took off three years to watch her son play baseball and returned to coaching in 2015. Tasker is in her fourth year at the school and third with the title of head coach. She considers Limekiller her “unofficial co-head coach. I couldn’t do it without her,” she said. Tasker, who studied anthropology at the University of San Diego, started coaching as a Metro Christian volunteer assistant and worked there for seven seasons. She is also current USTA Oklahoma vice president for adult competition. She said coaching Kelley’s girls is “a blessing, the pleasure of my life.”

Honorable mention

Bartlesville: Maddie Shelley, Erika Gruber, Jennifer Gruber, Annabelle Kelly, Jordan Bilger, Sam Simmons

Beggs: Hailee Nail

Bishop Kelley: Alyssa Zayat, Lainey Lehman

Bixby: Melody Holcomb, Savannah Lee, Becca Powers

Booker T. Washington: Victoria Nuñez

Broken Arrow: Camila Meza, Sheridan Reeder

Bristow: Kimberee Jones, Bailey Ledbetter

Cascia Hall: Houston Jennings, Lindsay Perkins, Lucie Tuttle, Erika Van Doren, Layla Drotar, Jacqueline Perkins

Claremore: Erin Kuykendall, Abbey Cox, Madison Rust, Sterling Sisovsky, Morgan Choat, Daley Reynolds

Collinsville: Grace Baysinger, Tylie Griffith, Kara Choate, Kamryn Stogstill

Edison: Emily Burk, Libby Benedict, Sheldyn Kizlinski, Julia Manipella

Henryetta: Bailey Davis, Haley Glass

Holland Hall: Seerut Parmer, Addison Tunnell, Emily Elmburg, Amie Lehman, Lauren Kramer, Maggie Smith

Jenks: Caroline Henry, Hannah Walman, Maddie Cameron, Julia Parkhill

Metro Christian: Hallie Sutton, Lauren Sutton, Emma McNeese, Arden Row

Oologah: Micaela McSpadden, Emily Hudson, Decker, Hanneman

Owasso: Libby Perkins, Gracee Shriver, Rebecca Wasserott, Jenna Holderman, Sonnie Simons

Pryor: Jenna Lanham, Cali Walters, Claire Mackay, San Nguyen

Regent Prep: Beth Bayless, Kate McElwain, Natalie Stitt, Lindsey Streeter, Natalie Randall, Julia Wright

Riverfield Country Day: Paige Williams, Elle Kalcik, Kirsten Clary, Gracie Rowell

Sand Springs: Abigail McGehee

Stillwater: Abby Pope, Libby Roark, Olivia Holiday, Lauren Jameson, Josie Leffingwell, Brookyln Sanders

Union: Kayci Merrick, Anika Jallipalli, Emily Barber, Courtney Moyer, Savanna Rogers

Wagoner: Britley Butler, Alyssa Armstrong, Katy Roberts, Marlee Medlin, Shelby Nolan

Previous winners

Player of the year

2018: Andie Williams, Jenks

2017: Jeryn Jack, Bishop Kelley

2016: No award given

2015: Kimmie Koors, Cascia Hall

2014: Peyton Jennings, Cascia Hall

2013: Madison Westby, Bishop Kelley

2012: Madison Westby, Bishop Kelley

2011: Stephanie Wei, Jenks

2010: Lisa Waldron, Jenks

2009: Andrea Lewis, Bishop Kelley

2008: Andrea Lewis, Bishop Kelley

2007: Rebecca Parks, B.T. Washington

2006: Rebecca Parks, B.T. Washington

2005: Rebecca Parks, B.T. Washington

Coach of the Year

2018: Rosie Ashworth, Bixby; and Emily Points, Metro Christian

2017: Russ Gehring and Madison Rahhal, Holland Hall

2016: No award given

2015: Molly Hannagan, Cascia Hall

2014: Ron Acebo, Jenks

2013: Ron Acebo, Jenks

2012: Claire Henley, Metro Christian

2011: Ron Acebo, Jenks

2010: Keith Hinds, Jenks

2009: Cip Frizzell, Cascia Hall

2008: Tara Williams, Jenks

2007: Tara Williams, Jenks

2006: Mia Vahlberg, Bishop Kelley

2005: Jeff Parks, Cascia Hall

How the team was picked

Nomination forms were emailed to athletic directors and coaches in the All-World area. Schools within 60 miles of downtown Tulsa and schools within 75 miles of downtown in a town with a population of 5,000 or more are considered to be in the All-World area. Freshmen through seniors were eligible. World sports writer Mike Brown made the final selections after reviewing the forms and consulting with coaches.

Featured video

Get your All-World Awards tickets for the June 22 event celebrating high school athletics at

Photo gallery: Here are the 2018-19 fall and winter sports finalists for the third annual All-World Awards in June

Mike Brown


Twitter: @mikebrownTW