The Gondles-Butler VFW Post 7977 is pleased to announce the 2019-2020 Voice of Democracy scholarship winners from Skiatook High School as follows:

Runner up — Rylee Houston

2nd place — Hannah DeLeon $100.00

1st place — Kathryn George $150.00

Congratulations to all and thank you for the many participants for this school year. The 1st and 2nd place entries from Skiatook will now compete for the VFW District scholarships. The entrants understanding of this year’s subject matter and the quality of the essays made it a challenge to select the best from the Skiatook High school. We look forward to the next school year scholarships.

Follow me on Twitter @SkiatookJournal.


Managing Editor

Lindsey is the managing editor for the Skiatook Journal. She holds an M.A in English from the University of Central Oklahoma. Prior to the start of her news career in 2011, Renuard was a professor of English at the University of Central Oklahoma.