Tulsa native Bill Hader took home the award for the second consecutive year as best actor in a television comedy for his HBO series “Barry” at Sunday night’s 71st Emmy Awards ceremony.

The series was nominated for 17 Emmys for its second season on the premium network, and it was created by Hader and Alec Berg, who the Cascia Hall graduate thanked in a brief speech.

Hader won the award while competing against Anthony Anderson (“black-ish”), Michael Douglas (“The Kominsky Method”), Ted Danson (“The Good Place”), Don Cheadle (“Black Monday”) and Eugene Levy (“Schitt’s Creek”).

Hader became only the second Oklahoma performer to win an Emmy for acting in consecutive years, matching fellow Tulsa native Larry Drake, who had a seven-season run as mentally disabled office assistant Benny Stulwicz on “L.A. Law.”

Drake twice won the best supporting actor in a drama Emmy, in both 1988 and 1989.

Meanwhile, Steven Castillo, a graduate of both Bishop Kelley High School and the University of Tulsa, was nominated along with the rest of the “Saturday Night Live” writing team for best writing for a variety show.

It was Castillo’s second consecutive nomination in the category, but “SNL” lost out to “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver.”

In “Barry,” which HBO has renewed for a third season, Hader plays a hitman from the Midwest who goes to Los Angeles on a contract killing but then becomes inspired by an acting teacher (Henry Winkler) and his fellow students, and he decides to try and become a serious actor.

Hader was also nominated for best writing and directing in a comedy, as well as for producing the best comedy nominee for a total of four nominations this year.

The Emmys for comedy writing and directing both went to the series “Fleabag,” as did best TV comedy.

Hader has now been nominated for 19 Emmy Awards, which have ranged from acting on “Saturday Night Live” to producing the variety sketch series “Documentary Now!” on IFC.

He has now won three Emmys — one as a producer of “South Park” in 2009, and for “Barry” as best comedic actor in 2018 and 2019.

With three Emmy wins, Hader moves ahead of two-time Emmy-winning Oklahomans like James Garner, Cindy Chupack and Megan Mullally.

The only state entertainment figures who have won more Emmys are Junie Lowry-Johnson, the casting director originally from Oklahoma City, with eight; Atoka native Matthew Mungle, a six-time Emmy winner in the makeup category; and Alfre Woodard, the Tulsa native who has won four acting Emmys.

Featured video

Michael Smith



Twitter: @michaelsmithTW