Officials of National Merit Scholarship Corp. this week announced about 16,000 semifinalists in the 64th annual National Merit Scholarship Program, including 72 from northeast Oklahoma.

Jenks and Booker T. Washington high schools were among only schools in Oklahoma with 10 or more semifinalists.

The academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for about 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $31 million that will be offered next spring.

Tulsa and northeast Oklahoma National Merit semifinalists not pictured:


• Abdullah Ijaz (Peace Academy)

• Abigail Bellatti (Regent Preparatory School)

• Allison Wenger (Booker T. Washington)

• Allyson McCormick (Edison)

• Caleb Freese (Metro Christian Academy)

• Catherine Hartman (Booker T. Washington)

• George Goodman (Regent Preparatory School)

• Graham Jameison (Metro Christian Academy)

• Harper McIntyre (Edison)

• Isaac Burden (Booker T. Washington)

• Jackson White (Regent Preparatory School)

• John Smith-Williams (Booker T. Washington)

• Joseph Williams (Booker T. Washington)

• Khaled Shihabi (Peace Academy)

• Matthew Rhoads (Booker T. Washington)

• McKenna Raley (Booker T. Washington)

• Nikith Kurella (Booker T. Washington)

• Raul Hernandez (Booker T. Washington)

• Richard Hasegawa (Booker T. Washington)

• Saagar Basavaraju (Booker T. Washington)

• Shwetanshu Das (Booker T. Washington)

Outside Tulsa

• Cade Platt (Bixby)

• Grant Claunch (Wagoner)

• Jillian Cordray (Owasso)

• Luke Jones (Owasso)

• Tyler Owens (Owasso)