Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence logo

Thirty students from northeast Oklahoma are among 100 high school seniors named as winners of the 2019 Academic All-State Awards.

The Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence on Monday announced its 33rd Academic All-State Class. Recipients were selected from 535 nominations statewide, hailing from 83 schools in 75 Oklahoma school districts.

Former University of Oklahoma President David Boren, chairman and founder of the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence, describes the selection of the scholars as “Oklahoma’s most rigorous academic competition.”

Since the award program’s inception in 1987, some 3,300 high school seniors from 325 school districts have been named All-State scholars. Three high schools will celebrate their first Academic All-Stater: Blair, Kansas and Oklahoma School for the Blind in Muskogee.

To be nominated for Academic All-State, students must meet one of the following criteria: an American College Test (ACT) composite score of at least 30; a combined SAT evidence-based reading and writing and math score of at least 1370; or be selected as a semi-finalist for a National Merit, National Achievement or National Hispanic Scholarship.

This year’s All-Staters scored an average of 33.6 on the ACT, with six recipients scoring a perfect 36. The students’ average GPA was 4.28. In addition, 33 of this year’s All-Staters are National Merit semifinalists, and two are National Hispanic Scholars.

Each of this year’s All-Staters will receive a $1,000 merit-based scholarship and a medallion and will be recognized at the foundation’s 33rd annual Academic Awards Banquet on May 18 at the Renaissance Tulsa Convention Center.

For more information, call the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence office at 405-236-0006 or visit ofe.org.

Northeast Oklahoma students in the 2019 Academic All-State class include:

• Margaret Drummond, Bartlesville High School

• Liza Williams, Bartlesville High School

• Madison Rice, Bixby High School

• Hayden Spillars, Bixby High School

• Bailey Vought, Broken Arrow High School

• Chloe Hart, Chandler High School

• Grace Brasfield, Claremore High School

• Bailey Winkle, Coweta High School

• Rajveer Korpe, Jenks High School

• Sanjeev Musuvathy, Jenks High School

• Kallie Asher, Kansas High School

• Carly Mills, McAlester High School

• Ashlin Ferris, Miami High School

• Kyler Inman, Newkirk High School

• Richelle Zampella, Oklahoma School for the Blind

• Madison Watson, Oologah High School

• Jillian Cordray, Owasso High School

• Emma Rich, Prague High School

• August Nielsen, Charles Page High School

• Tori Wood, Sequoyah High School

• Kacie Anderson, Skiatook High School

• Emma Bollinger, Stillwater High School

• Samuel Shideler, Stillwater High School

• Erika Vanderheiden, Stilwell High School

• Richard Hasegawa, Booker T. Washington High School

• Nikith Kurella, Booker T. Washington High School

• Harper McIntyre, Thomas A. Edison Preparatory High School

• Olivia Porter, Booker T. Washington High School

• Laiba Akhtar, Union High School

• Aaron Reid, Verdigris High School

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Recommended for you