Player of the year finalists

Listed alphabetically, here are the four finalists for the 2019 All-World Girls Track Player of the Year. All four are invited to the third

All-World Awards banquet on June 22, where the winner will be announced. Click here to buy tickets to the All-World Awards banquet.

Ellie Gilbreath

Regent Prep • Sr. • Distance runner

Swept the 800, 1,600 and 3,200 races at the state meet for the second straight year, pushing her gold medal haul in track and cross country to 11 over four seasons. Ran Class 2A meet-record times in the 1,600 and 3,200 as a senior and set Class A meet records in all three events as a junior. One of six females to win four consecutive cross country titles and is a three-time All-World finalist in that sport. Had a weighted 4.0 GPA. Made recruiting visits to Alabama, Oklahoma State and Tulsa but plans to bypass college competition and study marketing at OSU.

Zoie Kiddy

Kiefer • So. • Distance runner

Moved up in classification to capture 3A titles in the 800 and 1,600 races. Ran her fastest times in the state meet, going 5:13.99 in the 1,600, nearly nine seconds faster than her nearest challenger. Was sixth in the 800 and fifth in the 1,600 in the 2A state meet as a freshman. Won six of seven races in the 800 this season and five of seven in the 1,600. Also finished 13th in 3A cross country. Served as president of her class as an eighth- and ninth-grader. Also participates in FFA, FCA, speech and debate and is a varsity cheerleader.

Dahsauni Lyday

Wagoner • Jr. • Shot put/discus

Repeated as Class 4A shot put champion and added the discus title after finishing second in that event as a sophomore. Also was second in the shot put as a freshman. Broke her school record in the shot put with a throw of 43-5½ at Bristow on April 12 and also holds the school discus record. Has finished first in the shot put in 19 of 26 meets over her first three seasons and only twice was lower than second. A three-time conference champ in the discus and two-time champ in the shot put. Earned a spot on the superintendent’s honor roll.

Deborah Mazzei

Jenks • Fr. • Distance runner

Ran a personal-best time of 5:01.51 to win the 1,600 at the 6A state meet. Won by .36 of a second over twin sister Avery, who was runner-up. Also won the 800 and helped fuel Jenks’ third-place team finish, joining Avery, Paige Twiehaus and Tarryn Lowery for a second-place time in the 3,200 relay. Her 1,600 time in the state meet was season’s fastest. Also won the 800 and 1,600 in the regional. Older siblings Adrena and Daniel Mazzei won multiple track and cross country titles at Berryhill in 2014-17.

First team

100 meters: Carrington Jones-Jackson, Holland Hall

200: Olivia Tate, Beggs

400: Levi Gladd, Owasso

400: Annabel Hubner, Cascia Hall

800: Ellie Gilbreath, Regent Prep

1,600: Deborah Mazzei, Jenks

3,200: Payton Hinkle, Broken Arrow

3,200: Tess Crosley, Bishop Kelley

100 hurdles: Erica Terrell, Ripley

300 hurdles: Jesse Gilyard, Victory Christian

Relays: Brianna Hayes, Broken Arrow; Zoie Kiddy, Kiefer; Avery Mazzei, Jenks; Sierra Williams, Owasso

High jump: Kaitlyn Clemons, Caney Valley

Pole vault: Shelbi Day, Broken Arrow

Long jump: Kiah Purdunn, Oologah

Shot put: Sadie Boos, Bishop Kelley

Shot put: Dahsauni Lyday, Wagoner

Discus: Bailey Tilley, Jenks


Mark Frye • Pawhuska

Has the Huskies on the upswing in his eighth year at the helm, with help from assistants Jake Christenson and Shelly Hurd. Guided the girls team to a second consecutive Class 2A runner-up finish and the boys to the first state track title in school history. Tatyana Curry, Alyssa Reynolds and Haley Grooms returned from winning last year’s 800- and 1,600-meter state relay titles and prevailed in the same events in 2019, with help from Kiana Taylor in the 800 and Kaiti Moen in the 1,600. Frye, a 1991 graduate of Caney Valley High School in Caney, Kansas, started running track in the fifth grade “and fell in love with the individualism of the sport.” He has been involved in track for 21 of his 23 coaching seasons.

Honorable mention

Adair: Atleigh Branham, Cierra Russell

Bartlesville: Ragen Hodge

Berryhill: Hannah Melton, Callie Scott, Lily Swisher

Bishop Kelley: Seabring Huckleberry, Abigail Hills

B.T. Washington: Mikah Ferrying

Broken Arrow: Naomee Casey, Taylor Dozier, Miranda Givens, Kanisius Harding, Auryana Johnson, Danielle Shaw

Claremore: Kacey Holt

Claremore Sequoyah: Alicia Mercado, Tori Wood

Cleveland: Britney Hughes

Chouteau: Loribeth Miller

Collinsville: Ramsey Keim, Machenzie Robinson

Cushing: Jackson Nakiyah

Davenport: Maddie Harelson

Dewey: Gabby Higbee

East Central: Lakajnae Ackward

Fort Gibson: Zoey Whiteley

Glenpool: Hunter Gorton

Henryetta: Bailee Worlow

Holland Hall: Gabby Gregory

Jenks: Brooke Bayles, Sedona Emde, Grace Gaffney, Layne Kirkendoll, Paige Twiehaus

Lincoln Christian: Ariana Cruz

Mannford: Sydney Brinker, Alyssa Jerome

Metro Christian: Julia Thigpen

Morris: Deziraye Rice

Nathan Hale: Makayla Smith

Okmulgee: Brianna Harris, Mckenzie James, Morgan James

Owasso: Elizaberth Booth, Myra Boschee, Katie Henry, Kennedy Smith

Pawhuska: Tatyana Curry, Haley Grooms, Kaiti Moen, Alyssa Reynolds, Kiana Taylor

Pawnee: Taelor Brown, Sara Llamas-Howell

Perkins: Coley Larson

Regent Prep: Natalia Cleveland

Ripley: Carlee Mollet

Skiatook: Micalah Millard

Sperry: Allyn Barnett

Stroud: Myla Werschky

Tahlequah: Lily Barnes, Lily Couch

Union: Michaella Attebury, Kyra Choice, Kayla McClellen, Dymon Murdock

Previous winners

Athlete of the Year

2018: Brandee Presley, Bixby

2017: Brandee Presley, Bixby

2016: Cheyenne Walden, Sand Springs

2015: Grace Barber, Jenks

2014: Cameron Hilliard, Glenpool

2013: Kelsey McKee, Metro Christian; and Regan Ward, Beggs

2012: Kennedy Austin, Union

2011: Brooke Garner, Edison

2010: Janae Johnson, Union

2009: Cornesha Wilkerson, East Central

2008: Sara Vaughn, Union

2007: Kylie Spurgeon, Owasso

2006: Danielle Gilchrist, Union

2005: Danielle Gilchrist, Union

Coach of the Year

2018: Travis Bryant, Wagoner

2017: Kailan Woods, Lincoln Christian

2016: No award given

2015: Steve Patterson, Jenks

2014: Brent Wion, Henryetta

2013: Gerard Alexander, Beggs

2012: Mike Stanton, Union

2011: Steve Patterson, Lincoln Christian

2010: Mike Stanton, Union

2009: Greg Nash, B.T. Washington

2008: Kevin Gordon, East Central

2007: Tom Stockton, Union

2006: Tom Stockton, Union

How the team was picked

Nomination forms were emailed to athletic directors and coaches in the All-World area. Schools within 60 miles of downtown Tulsa and schools within 75 miles of downtown in a town with a population of 5,000 or more are considered to be in the All-World area. Freshmen through seniors were eligible. World sports writer Kelly Hines assisted Mike Brown with the final selections.

Mike Brown


Twitter: @mikebrownTW

Sports Writer

Mike has covered high school football, basketball and baseball for the Tulsa World since Spencer Tillman, Wayman Tisdale and Troy Aikman were sophomores in high school. Phone: 918-581-8390