2018-04-13 sp-drillers (copy)

Tulsa's Keibert Ruiz,  tagging out 2017 Texas League all-star catcher Jose Trevino of Frisco, is the youngest player on this year's TL North Division all-star team. IAN MAULE/Tulsa World

Five Tulsa Drillers will join their manager, Scott Hennessey, and coaches on the North Division team for the Texas League All-Star Game at 7:15 p.m. June 26 at Midland, Texas.

Three former Drillers also were picked to the North team as rosters were announced Wednesday. Teams were voted on by managers, coaches and media members.

Current Drillers selected are infielders Connor Joe and Drew Jackson, catcher Keibert Ruiz, and pitchers Yadier Alvarez and Justin De Fratus.

Joe, batting .302 with 11 homers and 27 RBIs through Tuesday's games, is second in the TL with a .988 OPS and third with a .564 slugging percentage. Ruiz is batting .250 and Jackson .238. De Fratus is 2-2 with a 3.90 ERA in five starts. Alvarez, who started last year's Futures Game, is 0-2 with 20 walks in 15 1/3 innings and a 5.87 ERA in five starts. He has not pitched since May 5.

Former Drillers selected were Arkansas pitcher Chase De Jong, Arkansas first baseman Joey Curletta and Northwest Arkansas infielder Erick Mejia. De Jong, the 2016 TL pitcher of the year, is 4-3 with a 3.97 ERA. Curletta is batting .299 with 10 homers and 44 RBIs. Mejia is batting .243 with 18 stolen bases.

Hennessey and his coaching staff will lead the North as a reward for winning the division last year.

Tulsa had the fewest players selected on the North. Northwest Arkansas and Springfield had seven each and Arkansas 6. San Antonio lead the South with nine players, followed by Corpus Christi with seven, Midland five and Frisco four.

San Antonio's contingent includes shortstop Fernando Tatis Jr, son of the former Drillers standout. Tatis, 19, will be the youngest player in the game.

The Drillers will have the North's oldest and youngest selections. De Fratus is 30 and Ruiz is 19 -- 5 1/2 months younger than Tatis.


North Division

Pitchers: Yadier Alvarez and Justin De Fratus, Tulsa; Nathan Bannister, Chase De Jong and Johendi Jiminian, Arkansas; Chris Ellis, Conner Greene, Connor Jones and Jake Woodford, Springfield; Foster Griffin and Jake Newberry, NW Arkansas.

Catchers: Keibert Ruiz, Tulsa; Nick Dini, NW Arkansas;

Infielders: Drew Jackson and Connor Joe, Tulsa; Joey Curletta and Chris Mariscal, Arkansas; Jecksson Flores and Nicky Lopez, NW Arkansas; Tommy Edman, Springfield.

Outfielders: Braden Bishop, Arkansas; Elier Hernandez, NW Arkansas; Victor Roache and Lane Thomas, Springfield.

Manager: Scott Hennessey, Tulsa

Coaches: Dave Borkowski, Leo Garcia and Terrmel Sledge, Tulsa


Pitchers: Logan Allen, Cal Quantrill, Rowan Wick and Brad Wieck, San Antonio; Ryan Hartman, Corbin Martin and Cionel Perez, Corpus Christi; Ariel Jurado and Richeson Pena, Frisco; Jesus Luzardo, Midland.

Catchers: Austin Allen, San Antonio; Sean Murphy, Midland.

Infielders: Randy Cesar, Taylor Jones and Josh Rojas, Corpus Christi; Ty France, River Stevens and Fernando Tatis Jr., San Antonio; J.P. Sportman and Eli White, Midland.

Outfielders: Hunter Cole, Frisco; Josh Naylor, San Antonio; Tyler Ramirez, Midland; Myles Straw, Corpus Christi.

Manager: Scott Steinmann, Midland

Coach: Tommy Everidge, Midland