Listed alphabetically, here are the three finalists for the OKPrepsExtra.com All-World Girls Track and Field Athlete of the Year. All three are invited to the second All-World Awards on Saturday, where the winner will be announced.

Karissa Jones

Dewey • Senior

Six-time state champion ran a Class 3A meet-record time of 14.43 seconds to win her third consecutive 100-meter hurdles title. Also won the 300 hurdles, finished second in the long jump after winning the event as a sophomore and junior, and was sixth in the 100 meters. Finished with 14 state medals over four seasons and won back-to-back Meet of Champions titles in the 110 hurdles. Enjoyed watching Faylon Kight, her Bulldogger running partner, for four years, sweep the boys hurdle events in the state meet. Signed with Pittsburg (Kansas) State.

Brandee Presley

Bixby • Senior

Again named an All-World girls track athlete of the year finalist after repeating as 6A state champ in the 100- and 200-meter sprints. Ran the 100 in a state-record 11.44 seconds and had the state’s best time this season in the 200 (24.62). Grew up in an athletic family and trained with sister Britney, a former B.T. Washington and Oklahoma State University standout. Runs for Tulsa Express Track Club, coached by Melvin Collins, and was fifth last summer in the 100 at the USTAF Junior Olympic championships. Signed with the University of Mississippi.

Ally Ryan

Jenks • Senior

Overcame foot surgery to repeat as 6A state champion in the 800 meters and ran a state-record time in the 1,600 of 4:51.55 at the Frontier Conference meet. Also won the 800 meters in the Kansas Relays and ran third in the state cross country meet, covering the 5K distance in 18:44.29. Set the state record in the 800 at last year’s state meet in 2:09.28. Also a softball standout, won 10 varsity letters in four sports while carrying a 4.5 GPA, one of 12 Trojans valedictorians. Signed with the University of Kansas.

First team

100: Brandee Presley, Bixby

200: Dawnae Chatman, Union

400: Tizhane Brooks, Union

800: Ally Ryan, Jenks

1,600:Rilee Rigdon, Bartlesville

3,200: Ellie Gilbreath, Regent Prep

100 hurdles: Karissa Jones, Dewey

300 hurdles: Madison Caputo, Broken Arrow

Relays: Broken Arrow 3,200 (Auryana Johnson, Kanisius Harding, Brianna Hays and Madison Caputo)

Discus: Dasani Lyday, Wagoner

High jump: Annie Haught, Collinsville

Long jump: Olivia Hicks, Holland Hall

Pole vault: Sedona Emde, Jenks

Shot put: Sadie Boos, Bishop Kelley


Travis Bryant, Wagoner

Departs for Inola after leading the Wagoner girls to a Class 4A third-place finish, highest in program history. He credits help he received from boys track coach Leland Alexander and assistants Mike Mills and Darren Hummingbird. A 1997 Vinita graduate, he spent five football seasons as Wagoner’s defensive coordinator, playing key role in Bulldogs’ record 48-game winning streak. Will be Inola’s defensive coordinator, head boys track coach and girls basketball assistant.

Honorable mention

Bishop Kelley: Sara Crosley, Tess Crosley, Seabring Huckleberry

Caney Valley: Kaitlyn Clemons, Gavriel Myers

Cascia Hall: Abby Dennis

Catoosa: Jordan Bordwine

Claremore: Katelyn Alexander, Sydney Callender, Laynie Nichols

Claremore Sequoyah: Taygen Scrivner

Cleveland: Nakiyah Jackson, Lexi Hastings

Collinsville: Carrington Buoy

Cushing: Nadia Mooreland

Davenport: Maddie Harelson

East Central: Lafrancia Hampton

Fort Gibson: Meagan Wilcox

Holland Hall: Carrington Jones-Jackson

Kiefer: Caitlin King

Metro Christian: Julia Thigpen

Morris: Kamarie Wallace

Nathan Hale: Anastasia Merrell

Oologah: Kiah Purdunn

Owasso: Levi Gladd

Pawhuska: Kyleigh Riebel

Pawnee: Jaiden Biddy, Taelor Brown, Sarah Llamas-Howell,

Porter: Kaitlin Coleman, Lexie Conley, Jasmine Scott

Regent Prep: Natalia Cleveland

Wagoner: Dezaria Penney

Previous winners

Athlete of the Year

2017: Brandee Presley, Bixby

2016: Cheyenne Walden, Sand Springs

2015: Grace Barber, Jenks

2014: Cameron Hilliard, Glenpool

2013: Kelsey McKee, Metro Christian and Regan Ward, Beggs

2012: Kennedy Austin, Union

2011: Brooke Garner, Edison

2010: Janae Johnson, Union

2009: Cornesha Wilkerson, East Central

2008: Sara Vaughn, Union

2007: Kylie Spurgeon, Owasso

2006: Danielle Gilchrist, Union

2005: Danielle Gilchrist, Union

Coach of the year

2017: Kailan Woods, Lincoln Christian

2016: No award given

2015: Steve Patterson, Jenks

2014: Brent Wion, Henryetta

2013: Gerard Alexander, Beggs

2012: Mike Stanton, Union

2011: Steve Patterson, Lincoln Christian

2010: Mike Stanton, Union

2009: Greg Nash, B.T. Washington

2008: Kevin Gordon, East Central

2007: Tom Stockton, Union

2006: Tom Stockton, Union

Second annual All-World Awards

The winner for girls track and field athlete of the year, plus all other high school sports winners, will be announced during the second annual All-World Awards, presented by keynote sponsor Braum’s, from 5-8 p.m. Saturday at the Marriott Southern Hills. Denver Broncos cornerback and Bixby High School graduate Chris Harris Jr. will be the keynote speaker. For information or to order tickets, go to allworldawards.com.

Mike Brown



Twitter: @mikebrownTW

Kelly Hines



Twistter: @kellyhinesTW

Sports Writer

Kelly has been the University of Tulsa football and basketball beat writer since 2014. She grew up in Moore, was valedictorian at Christian Heritage Academy and graduated from Oklahoma State University. Phone: 918-581-8452