Listed alphabetically, here are the three finalists for the 2018 Tulsa Roughnecks Boys Soccer Athlete of the Year. All three are invited to the second All-World Awards on June 23, where the winner will be announced.

Ruben Carrasco

F • Union • senior

Established a Union school record with 27 goals, the most by a boy in the state this season. Helped the Redskins to an 18-0 season and the Class 6A state championship, their first since 2007. Scored the game-winning goal in the 4-0 state final victory against Jenks. Heading off to Northern Oklahoma College to play next year. “Ruben is a great person and motivates the people around him,” Union coach Michael Wilson said. “He has a soccer ability that excites fans.”

Sebastian Estrada

MF • Bishop Kelley • junior

Started the season playing out wide, but was moved to center midfield early in the year and flourished. Scored eight goals and had 12 assists. Notched two goals, including the game-winner, in Comets’ 3-1 victory over East Central in the Class 5A state championship game, their second straight title. “Sebastian is an extremely talented player who has the skill and ability to make the game look easy,” Kelley coach Phil Barkley said. “He exceeded our expectations.”

Colby Leonard

F • Fort Gibson • senior

Also an All-World Finalist last season, scored 24 goals and 10 assists to help lead the Tigers to their second straight Class 4A state championship. Had two assists in 2-1 semifinal win over OKC Southeast and again assisted on both goals in 2-0 victory over Skiatook in the state final. Finished outstanding high school career with 92 goals and 39 assists. “Great finisher and very creative,” Fort Gibson coach Todd Friend said. “With teams marking up on him this year, he really worked on dishing the ball off and created a lot of goals.”

First team

Ruben Carrasco, F, Union, senior

Michael Duran, MF, East Central, senior

Will Edwards, MF/F, Jenks, sophomore

Sebastian Estrada, MF, Bishop Kelley, junior

Colby Leonard, F, Fort Gibson, senior

Vlad Munteanu, F, Stillwater, senior

Damola Olaniran, D, Booker T. Washington, junior

Mario Rivadavia, D/F, Broken Arrow, senior

Seth Ryan, D, Verdigris, senior

Ruben Torres, MF, Union, senior

Brennan Whalen, GK, Bishop Kelley, junior


Phil Barkley, Bishop Kelley

After losing multiple stars to graduation off the 2017 Class 5A state championship team, helped foster growth of midfielder Sebastian Estrada into elite player and molded a new group that succeeded with superior depth. Led Comets to 17-2 record and an upset win over previously-unbeaten East Central in state final for second straight 5A title.

Second team

Brooks Bonnallie, D, Bishop Kelley, sophomore

Manuel Camarena, MF, Daniel Webster, junior

Logan Campbell, GK, Union, junior

Cade Cummings, D, Fort Gibson, senior

Bradley Fritch, MF, Summit Christian, senior

Dylan Geib, MF, Skiatook, senior

Nang Khual, MF/F, Jenks, junior

Ricardo Recendiz, D, East Central, junior

Jax Robinson, MF, Verdigris, senior

C.J. Rumley, MF, Glenpool, senior

Saleh Saidi, F, Holland Hall, senior

Honorable mention

Bishop Kelley: Jack Barkley, Braden Hudgins, Cooper King

Booker T. Washington: Grant King, Evan Loegering

Broken Arrow: Kobe Ayers

Coweta: Josh Long, Chris Ramirez

East Central: Hector Dimas

Fort Gibson: Jose Estrada, Marcos Estrada

Glenpool: Monty Pringle

Holland Hall: Matthew Pearson, Paul Saidi, Nathan Washecheck

Jenks: Cameron McCurdy, Misael Mendes

Pryor: Haiden Spencer

Rejoice Christian: Zach Larkin

Skiatook: Greydon Jackson, Caden Stumpff

Union: Giovanni Herrera, Francisco Lopez, Cooper McCombs, Grady Verner

Will Rogers: Omar Rodriguez


Player of the year

2017: Austin Wormell, Bishop Kelley

2016: Koleson Freeman, Verdigris

2015: Munashe Raranje, Jenks

2014: Colton Jackson, Skiatook

2013: Tomiwa Olaniran, B.T. Washington

2012: Cristian Mata, Union

2011: Max Moller, Bishop Kelley

2010: Omar Mata, Union

2009: Cody Mumma, Jenks

2008: Thomas Shannon, Broken Arrow

2007: Jon Gann, Union

2006: Jonathan Medcalf, Jenks

2005: Levi Coleman, Broken Arrow

Coach of the Year

2017: Shane Schwab, Broken Arrow

2016: Justin Phillip, Verdigris

2015: John Timmons, Jenks

2014: Thor Campbell, Skiatook

2013: Robert Wakeley, B.T. Washington

2012: Robby Huerta, Cascia Hall

2011: Alex Miranda, Broken Arrow

2010: Donivan Bradshaw, Bishop Kelley

2009: Donivan Bradshaw, Bishop Kelley

2008: Mickey Miller, B.T. Washington

2007: Jason Jedamski, Union

2006: Derek Larkin, Bishop Kelley

Second annual All-World Awards

The winner for boys soccer player of the year, plus all other high school sports winners, will be announced during the second annual All-World Awards, presented by keynote sponsor Braum’s, from 5-8 p.m. June 23 at the Marriott Southern Hills. Denver Broncos cornerback and Bixby High School graduate Chris Harris Jr. will be the keynote speaker. For information or to order tickets, go to allworldawards.com.