2016-05-05 sp-hscomets

Bishop Kelley’s Charlie Case was named District 5A-3 pitcher of the year on Wednesday. | IAN MAULE/Tulsa World

Bishop Kelley’s Charlie Case was named pitcher of the year for high school baseball District 5A-3, the coaches announced Wednesday.

Pryor’s Spencer Henson and Coweta’s Jake Northern were co-players of the year and Tahlequah’s Lance Jeanes was coach of the year for guiding the Tigers into the state tournament for the first time in 16 years.

Case takes an 8-0 record into the Class 5A state tournament and has not lost a game in two years as a varsity starting pitcher.

Kelley faces Duncan at 11 a.m. Thursday at Yukon High School, Pryor plays El Reno at 4 p.m. and Tahlequah faces defending champion Shawnee at 6:30.

All-District 5A-3

Pitchers: Corbin Candy, Tahlequah; Charlie Case, Kelley; Tanner Floyd, Edison; Casey Foster, Coweta; Gaige Mendivil, Pryor; Zach Othon, Kelley; Deon Smith, McAlester.

Catchers: Cayden Aldridge, Tahlequah; Ben Weintraub, Edison.

First base: Daniel DeSimone, Kelley; Matt Schuler, Edison.

Infielders: Dakota Finley, Durant; Ryan Gendron, Kelley; Spencer Henson, Pryor; Jake McMurray, Kelley; Anthony Martinez, Pryor; Jake Northern, Kelley; R.J. Pearson, Tahlequah; Drew Rowlands, Edison; Philip Scott, Kelley.

Outfielders: Tylor Arnold, Pryor; Braden Calico, Coweta; Easton Caldwell, Tahlequah; Keaton Kinney, Edison; Tristan Nolten, Coweta; Nick Stelly, Kelley; Brandon Walker, Edison.

Designated hitter: Drew Smith, Durant.

Honorable Mention

Coweta: J.T. Goodfellow, Jordan Waller, Dillon Kuester, Ryan Summers, Reid Stockman, Ty Decker.

Durant: Brody Nichols.

Edison: Colten Binning, Nick Lucas, Rustin Postier,

Kelley: Ricky Ronketty, J.T. Griffin, Parker Rowland, Mitchell Craig.

McAlester: Kabyn Kelley, Mackey Eales, Andrew McBride.

Pryor: Drew McCollough, Bradley Nixon, Christian Campbell, Chandler Olson, Jamarco Blalock.

Tahlequah: Colton Mashburn, Brock Mitchell.

Mike Brown 918-581-8390