Listed alphabetically, here are the three finalists for the 2018 Tulsa Golf Boys Golf Athlete of the Year. All three are invited to the second All-World Awards on June 23, where the winner will be announced.

Matthew Braley

Cascia Hall • Senior

Rallied from a three-shot deficit over the final 18 holes to win his second Class 4A individual title in three years. Also won as a sophomore, fueling the Commandos’ No. 1 finish in the team standings, and tied for third as a junior. Had a 72.9 stroke average this season and saved his best for last, shooting a varsity career-low 65 — with six birdies and one bogey — in the final round of the state tournament. Also won the Edmond North and 4A regional tournaments. Signed to play at Grand Canyon University in Phoenix.

Austin Enzbrenner

Owasso • Senior

Finished second in the 6A state tournament, fueling the Rams’ No. 2 finish in the team standings. Also was fourth as a sophomore, seventh as a junior and was part of a state championship team as a freshman. Won the Owasso Invitational and tied for third in the Frontier Conference. Posted three top-25 finishes in AJGA events last summer and fired a second-round 62 en route to fourth place in the 2016 AJGA Junior Championship at Oak Tree. Coached by Corey Burd, Bailey Ranch director of golf. Signed with Missouri State University.

JP Roller

Regent Prep • Sophomore

Won the 2A state title after finishing runner-up as a freshman. Had a first-round 65 and played three rounds in 11-under par at Oklahoma City’s Lake Hefner North course, fueling Regent Prep’s first state title in a boys sport. Had a 72.7 stroke average and was runner-up in the Jenks, Edmond North and 2A regional tournaments. Is rated 28th nationally in the 2020 recruiting class and No. 1 in Oklahoma by Junior Golf Scoreboard website. Coached by his mom, Maggie Roller, director of instruction at Cedar Ridge Country Club.


Matthew Braley, Sr., Cascia Hall

Austin Enzbrenner, Sr., Owasso

Carlos Gomez, Sr., Union

JP Roller, So., Regent Prep

Jared Strathe, Sr., Owasso


Maggie Roller, Regent Prep

Started the program in 2015, guided the Rams to a Class 2A state runner-up finish last year and the school’s first team state title in a boys sport in 2018. Coached Jenks girls for four seasons. Played in the U.S. Women’s Open when she was 16, was part of the University of Tulsa’s 1988 NCAA championship team and played professionally in Europe. Has taught golf locally for 26 years. Director of instruction at Cedar Ridge Country Club.

Second team

Logan Brooks, So., Berryhill

Carson Griggs, Sr., Sand Springs

Gabe Replogle, So., Broken Arrow

Reagan Streck, Sr., Lincoln Christian

Davis Woodliff, Jr., Bishop Kelley

Honorable mention

Bartlesville: Carson Rainbolt

Beggs: Bryce Couch, Logan Benton, Will Wise

Bishop Kelley: Andrew Hennessee, Matt Barlow, Jack Suess, Jaxson King

Bixby: Kyle Peterson, Dylan Teeter, Nathan Baber, Michael Kemmerly, Chance Criss

B.T. Washington: Evan Johnson, Michael Black, Tim James

Bristow: Grant Mahaney

Broken Arrow: Kaden Armstrong

Cascia Hall: Jack Gero, Trent Westbrock, Will Albers

Claremore: Trenton Strawderman, Jordan Gotcher

Claremore Sequoyah: Talon Funk, Peyton Lane

Cleveland: Jace Evans, Jefferson Cook

Collinsville: Cannon Hunt

Coweta: Logan Meehan, Conner Meehan, Tanner Griffith, Josh Mills

Cushing: Jacob Grellner

Fort Gibson: Connor Calavan

Hilldale: Colby Clark, Caleb York

Holland Hall: Colin Broermann, Bobby Hughes, Ayden Korn, Alan Kalapura, Mason Lee

Jenks: Dudley McElhaney

Keys Parkhill: Alden Terrell, Isaiah Allison, Isaac Latta

Lincoln Christian: Brayden Strickland, Jaxon Leek, Titan Stone, Cole Fingerle

Metro Christian: Wyatt Richardson

Oologah: Soulai Vang

Owasso: Tyler Rhodes, Matt Ritchie, Brent Wilcoxen

Pryor: Parker Sloan

Regent Prep: Jackson White, Grant Benjamin, Karsten Sanders

Sapulpa: Clay Venable, Daniel Reed

Stillwater: Jack Glenn, Eric Schuessler, Mitchell Bradshaw, Bennett Baldwin, Grayson Baker

Tahlequah: Jax Johnson, Seth Mawscho, Luke Green

Union: Tyler Cox, Cole Dibler, Jeremy Tandoy

Victory Christian: Brennan Richardson, Christian Ross, Mason Hill,

Woodland: Tyler Gordon

Previous winner

Player of the Year

2017: Carson Griggs, Sand Springs

2016: Matthew Braley, Cascia Hall

2015: Justin Moore, Broken Arrow

2014: Casey Paul, Owasso

2013: Brendon Jelley, Jenks

2012: Jackson Hess, Okmulgee

2011: Colton Staggs, Jenks, and Charlie Saxon, Cascia Hall

2010: Charlie Saxon, Cascia Hall

2009: Karsten Majors, Bixby

2008: Stephen Carney, Union

2007: Mark Johnson, Jenks

2006: Draegen Majors, Bixby

2005: Ty Sanders, Jenks

Coach of the Year

2017: Shawn Lawhorn, Bishop Kelley

2016: No award given

2015: Lindsay Jones, Union

2014: Corey Burd, Owasso

2013: Shawn Lawhorn, Bishop Kelley

2012: Shawn Lawhorn, Bishop Kelley

2011: Bo Belcher, Broken Arrow

2010: Jeff Rude, Bartlesville

2009: Brian Rahilly, Cascia Hall

2008: Brent Wilcoxen, Jenks

2007: Everett Mahaney, Metro Christian

2006: Wade Weller, Cascia Hall

2005: Sparky Grober, Holland Hall

Second annual All-World Awards

The winner for boys golfer of the year, plus all other high school sports winners, will be announced during the second annual All-World Awards, presented by keynote sponsor Braum’s, from 5-8 p.m. June 23 at the Marriott Southern Hills. Denver Broncos cornerback and Bixby High School graduate Chris Harris Jr. will be the keynote speaker. For information or to order tickets, go to allworldawards.com.

Mike Brown



Twitter: @mikebrownTW

Sports Writer

Mike has covered high school football, basketball and baseball for the Tulsa World since Spencer Tillman, Wayman Tisdale and Troy Aikman were sophomores in high school. Phone: 918-581-8390