OSU Football MB

Oklahoma State's Justice Hill runs into the end zone against Oklahoma during the Bedlam football game at Oklahoma State University in Stillwater, Okla., on Saturday, November 4, 2017. MATT BARNARD/Tulsa World

Oklahoma State nation is fixated on the recruitment of Dax Hill, the five-star safety from Tulsa set to star at Booker T. Washington this fall.

But it’s two alumni from his high school -- including his brother -- who headline Oklahoma State’s roster in 2018.

Running back Justice Hill and defensive end Jordan Brailford, both former Hornets, were two of the three Cowboys named to the preseason All-Big 12 team, as voted on by the media covering the league. Left guard Marcus Keyes was the third.

The three selections are tied for third-most in the conference behind Oklahoma (7) and West Virginia (4).

The selection is no surprise for Hill, an All-Big 12 first teamer a year ago. The running back has 2,609 rushing yards in two seasons in Stillwater, including 14 career 100-yard games. He enters the season as a Doak Walker Award contender and as the centerpiece of OSU’s offense.

After struggling through injuries for the first half of his college career, Brailford emerged as a force in 2017, gaining a reputation for his hustle and commitment to finishing plays. He finished with 57 tackles and 10.5 tackles for loss, earning him second-team All-Big 12 honors.

Keyes, a Port Allen, Louisiana native, will enter his third season as a starter. The junior made the Associated Press All-Big 12 team after his sophomore season.

The Big 12 preseason poll comes out on Thursday.

All Big 12 team


QB: Will Grier, West Virginia

RB: David Montgomery, Iowa State; Rodney Anderson, Oklahoma; Justice Hill, Oklahoma State

WR: Denzel Mims, Baylor; Marquise Brown, Oklahoma; David Sills, West Virginia

TE: Grant Calcaterra, Oklahoma

OL: Dalton Risner, Kansas State; Bobby Evans, Oklahoma; Ben Powers, Oklahoma; Marcus Keyes, Oklahoma State; Yodny Cajuste, West Virginia

PK: Austin Seibert, Oklahoma

KR/PR: KaVontae Turpin, TCU


DL: JaQuan Bailey, Iowa State; Daniel Wise, Kansas; Jordan Brailford, Oklahoma State; Ben Banogu, TCU; Breckyn Hager, Texas

LB: Joe Dineen, Kansas; Dakota Allen, Texas Tech; David Long, West Virginia

DB: Brian Peavy, Iowa State; Kendall Adams, Kansas State; Kris Boyd, Texas; Jah’Shawn Johnson, Texas Tech; Justus Parker, Texas Tech

P: Austin Seibert, Oklahoma

Mark Cooper 



Twitter: @mark_cooperjr